EAST BENGAL the Real POWER -The Official Website

Glitzy Launch Event Held in the Presence of Team Captains and AIFF President Shri Praful Patel.

New Delhi, 24th January 2017 – All India Football Federation (AIFF), the governing body of the sport in the country today (January 24, 2017) launched the first ever Women’s Professional League which is to be contested among six Teams.

All matches of the two-week Indian Women’s League (IWL) will be played at Delhi’s Ambedkar Stadium with the first match scheduled for Saturday, January 28.

Besides AIFF President Shri Praful Patel and Minister of State (I/C) Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Vijay Goel, representatives from the six Teams, as well as Ms. Sakshi Malik were present on the occasion.

Sharing his thoughts on the occasion Shri. Praful Patel, President, AIFF, said: Our women’s team is ranked 54 in the world which is higher than the men’s ranking of 129 which means that for the upcoming FIFA women’s World Cup in 2019, if we put in the right effort our Women’s team will have an outside chance of qualifying for the world cup before the men. This in itself is a huge achievement.”

“This is a beginning for the women’s game in the country. We are starting with six teams and hope to expand it to 16 by next year. This gives our women footballers the option to take it up as a career. I wish all the teams the very best and may the best team win,” he added.

Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports, Shri. Vijay Goel lauded the AIFF for launching IWL which he felt will “inspire the women footballers of the country to work towards a goal.”

He further added, “Since my dear friend Mr. Praful Patel is heading the football federation I expect Indian football to progress at a greater pace. This is a momentous occasion and today women are ahead of men in every field. I hope our women footballers will also earn greater laurels for the country. Whatever help is required from the Government and sports ministry, we shall ensure that all help is provided.”

The six participating teams -- FC Alakhpura (Haryana), Jeppiaar Institute of Technology FC (Puducherry), Aizawl FC (Mizoram), FC Pune City (Maharashtra), Rising Student Club (Odisha) and Eastern Sporting Union (Manipur) would play each other in a round-robin format with the top four teams advancing to the semifinals.

20 Teams from across 9 states had taken part in the first leg of the qualifiers from which 9 Teams qualified for the IWL prelims which were held in Cuttack in October 2016.

Dalima Chibber (FC Pune City), Oinam Bembem Devi (ESUFC), Sasmita Malik (Rising Student FC), Sanju Yadav (FC Alakhpura), Sumithra Kamaraj (Jeppiar Institute FC) and K. Lalruaizeli (Aizawl FC) represented their respective Teams at the launch.



Related Articles

More Articles

Latest News

More News
Indian Football News Posted on November 21, 2017

The 11th edition of Hero I-League officially launched at a glittering ceremony here today.

This marks the beginning of yet another scintillating season of enth...